Important message

We are experiencing an issue with all of our documents stored on the server. Before the DocumentCloud resolves the issue, all our documents will be not accessible. We apologize for inconvenience and thank you for your understanding

35+ Years of Freedom of Information Action


Board of Directors

  • Chair: Edgar N. James, Esq. (Partner, James & Hoffman; pro bono litigator on behalf of the Archive)
  • Vice Chair: Nancy E. Soderberg (Distinguished Visiting Scholar, Department of Political Science and Public Administration, University of Northern Florida; former Vice President, International Crisis Group; former U.S. Alternate Representative to the United Nations; former Deputy Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs; former Staff Director, National Security Council; appointed Chair of the Public Interest Declassification Board in January 2012)
  • Secretary: Cliff Sloan (Dean's Visiting Scholar, Georgetown University Law Center; Retired Partner, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP; Special Envoy for Guantanamo Closure, United States Department of State, 2013-2014; General Counsel of Washingtonpost.Newsweek Interactive, 2000-2008)
  • Treasurer: Nancy Kranich (Special Projects Librarian, Rutgers University; Former Associate Dean of Libraries, New York University; Former President, American Library Association)
  • Michael Abramowitz (President, Freedom House; former Director, National Institute for Holocaust Education of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum; former White House Correspondent and National Editor of The Washington Post)
  • Sheila S. Coronel (Toni Stabile Professor of Professional Practice in Investigative Journalism; Director of the Toni Stabile Center for Investigative Journalism, and Dean of Academic Affairs, Graduate School of Journalism, Columbia University; former Director, Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism)
  • Vivian Schiller (Executive Director, Aspen Digital; former CEO, The Civil Foundation; former head of News Partnerships, Twitter; former Chief Digital Officer, NBC News; former President and CEO, National Public Radio; former Senior Vice President, The New York Times Company; former Senior Vice President, The Discovery Times Channel) 
  • President: Thomas S. Blanton (Director, National Security Archive)


In Memoriam

  • Russell Hemenway, Board of Directors Chair, 1999-2014
  • Dr. John Steinbruner, Board of Advisors, 1985-2015
  • Gen. William Y. Smith, Board of Directors, 1999-2016
  • Dr. Richard Steckel, Board of Advisors, 1994-2015


Advisory Board

  • Dr. Philip Brenner, Ph.D. (Professor of International Relations and former Chair, School of International Service, American University; Lead plaintiff in Archive lawsuit for Cuban Missile Crisis documents) 
  • Susan Brynteson (Former Vice Provost and University Librarian, University of Delaware; Former Chair, American Library Association Intellectual Freedom Committee) 
  • Dr. Anne Cahn, Ph.D. (Member of the Board of Directors, United States Institute of Peace; Author of Killing Détente; former Director, Committee on National Security; former Arms Control and Disarmament Agency and Department of Defense staffer)
  • Rosemary Chalk (Board Director, Institute of Medicine, National Academies) 
  • John Dinges (Former professor, Columbia University School of Journalism; former Managing Editor, National Public Radio; Archive Fellow and Author of Our Man in Panama
  • Herbert N. Foerstel (Retired University Librarian, University of Maryland; Author of Secret Science and Surveillance in the Stacks; Member, American Library Association Intellectual Freedom Committee)
  • Dr. Joan Hoff, Ph.D. (Research Professor of History, Montana State University; former Executive Secretary, Organization of American Historians)
  • Dr. Akira Iriye, Ph.D. (Professor of History, Harvard University; Past President, American Historical Association) 
  • Dr. David Alan Rosenberg, Ph.D. (Professor of Maritime Strategy, National War College; Former MacArthur Fellow) 
  • Tina Rosenberg, (Co-writer, New York Times "Fixes" column, co-founder Solutions Journalism Network, former New York Times Editorial Board; Former MacArthur Fellow; Former Archive Fellow and Pulitzer Prize winner for her book The Haunted Land
  • Jack Siggins (Former University Librarian, The George Washington University) 
  • Thomas Susman, Esq. (Director, American Bar Association Washington Office; former partner, Ropes & Gray; Former counsel, U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee; Co-author of the 1974 Freedom of Information Act amendments)